Random Facts About Guyana: 5 Facts About The Language

Five facts about the language spoken in Guyana are: there is more than one language spoken here, Urdu is spoken, English is official, British English is taught in schools and many of its citizens speak Guyanese Creole. Guyana, the land of many waters, as it is sometimes called, is located in South America. It borders Venezuela on the left, Suriname on the right, Brazil on the bottom, and the Atlantic Ocean on the top. This country is 83,000 square miles and its citizens are called Guyanese.

More than one

Amerindians, Africans, Portuguese, East Indians, and Chinese are some of the races of people that live in this beautiful country. So it should come as no surprise to hear, or in this case read, that more than one language is spoken here. The dialects of English, Guyanese Creole, Urdu, Wai-Wai, Spanish and Chinese are some of the languages ​​spoken here. In fact, there are some citizens who do not speak or understand the official language of the country. For first-hand experience on this latest statement, if you ever visit here, take a walk around Stabroek Market, talk to some of the vendors, and you may get some experience on this.


Urdu, according to Collins English Dictionary and Thesaurus, belongs to the Indic branch of the Indo-European language family, and is closely related to Hindi. This is also the national language of Pakistan and is also spoken in Bangladesh, Nepal, Bahrain, and India. Although Urdu is “dying” among the people here, those who can speak it do so with great enthusiasm.

English is official

English is the official language of this land of the Republic. The country is also the only English-speaking country in South America. One of the reasons for the fascination with this fact is that its neighboring countries are Spanish-speaking or French.

British English

British English is taught in schools here, and this should come as no surprise because the country was once ruled by Great Britain. The country was once called British Guiana.


Seeing that English is taught in this diverse country, the widely spoken Guyanese Creole draws on English. However, as you travel from one area to another, you will find sub-dialects in each area. The dialect of the people of Georgetown, the nation’s capital, is slightly different from that of the East Coast. This is possibly due to the influences of the languages ​​of West Africa, India and others that were spoken by the ancestors of this land.

An example of Creole that is spoken here, in the form of a proverb is: if your eye does not see, your mouth must not speak, (if your eyes have not seen it, you must not talk about it) that is, you must see something for yourself. myself before talking about anything.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *